More than just Sunday

One of my favourite authors, says how as humans we long for community and are in fact created to live in community with others. I believe that to be the truth. I am not an expert where community is concerned and at some point in my not so distant past I shunned the vulnerability that comes with living in community with others and actually bought into the deception that it is more than possible to live this life without others.

These days, I, have found within me this overwhelming desire to live an open life with other brothers and sisters in Christ and vice versa. When I study the Word of God, I am shown and touch something of the lives of the saints of that day and along with these early church saints, there are yet those who have recently gone before and their stories of life as strangers to this world. I feel this undeniable yearning to know first hand what it is like to live life with others who are equally passionate and in love with the Lord Jesus Christ and everything about Him, not just fellowshipping on Sunday and then two more times in the week or what have you, but where we are actually living this life together, day in and out, iron sharpening iron. Less the theory and talk and more the practical in truth.
This is one of the deepest desires of my heart; to see the Western mindset of individualism and all that it entails in our lives broken, to see the spiritual truth of the oneness of the body of Christ break through powerfully into this physical world, so that the deep, rich and multi-faceted Life and Love of God will be the undercarriage of all our relationships, especially our relationships with fellow brothers and sisters in the Lord.

There is a laying down that is required, a revelation to be accessed. The apostle Paul in his letter to the saints in Ephesus writes: that in Christ Jesus, the Father has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms and in Paul’s first letter to the saints in Corinth he says that having received the Spirit who is from God and who is God, we can now know all that has been lavishly and graciously given to us. What does this mean in this context?

From His Word it is obvious to me that the Father desires for us to live in community with other believers and knowing this, makes me quite excited! Why? Well because firstly, I then know that He has placed this desire within me and it is not of my own doing, secondly, it means that it will be realised and already has been! I have seen and heard “stories” of true community and have felt the Holy Spirit a witness so strong in my spirit to the reality of spiritual, true and real community of believers gathering around the Lord Jesus Christ, Who is all. I am looking forward and: “Looking away [from all that will distract] to Jesus, Who is the Leader and the Source of our faith [giving the first incentive for our belief] and is also its Finisher [bringing it to maturity and perfection].”  -Heb 12:2a (Amplified bible)

Love and all blessings to all

7 thoughts on “More than just Sunday

  1. Pingback: Our Inheritance With Christ Jesus « bummyla

  2. Pingback: THE SECRET PLAN OF GOD « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

  3. Pingback: 120825–George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal–Saturday |

  4. Amen. I agree with you. We need both a personal life with Christ and a corporate life of fellowship with other believers. I like the story of Mary meeting the Lord at the tomb. She waited, lingered, sought after Him early in the morning, and He appeared to her personally and privately and she received revelation from Him. This is like our private time with the Lord, where we receive a word from Him. Then Mary ran to the disciples and told them what she had experienced. We should be the same what the Lord reveals to us, impresses us with in your time alone with Him, may be shared with our brothers and sisters in Christ for their encouragement, edification, and spiritual progress. Like Paul said, the grace of God is “to me for you,” and similarly to us for others. Praise Him.

    • Thank you for commenting, what you’ve said is so beautiful and I’m so blessed by it, because devotion to the Lord Jesus as shown in the Gospels really tugs at my heart and sharing Him with others as He has shared Himself with us is the way to live. Blessings to Him and indeed praise be to His name.

  5. Pingback: How can I be a blessing to others? « Michael Wilson's Blog

  6. Pingback: How can I be a blessing to others? | Quotes, thoughts and musings

Leave a Reply

